California State Park Rangers Association

CSPRA's Honorary California State Park Ranger

Past Award Recipients Since Inception in 1965.

Some years had multiple awards, some years had none.

Recipients by Last Name


Ansel Adams

Helen "Harriet" Allen

William Alsup

Sally Altick

Victoria Araujo

Dr. Harold Biswell

Harry Blaisdell, Sr.

David Brower

Douglas R. Bryce

George Cardinet, Jr.

Pearl Chase

Verl Clausen

Don Cooley

Diane Porter Cooley


Harry M. Daniel

John B. DeWitt

Walt Disney

Edward F. Dolder

Newton B. Drury

Bertram "Bert" Dunshee

Verna Dunshee

Joseph H. Engbeck, Jr.

Clint Eastwood

Phil Frank

Percy French

Phil Geiger

William Goodall

Earl P. Hanson

Caryl Hart

Dr. Jarrell Jackman

Huell Howser

Joseph C. Houghteling


Fred Keeley

Howard King

Joe Knowland

Andrea Mead Lawrence

Claude A. "Tony" Look

L.W. "Bill" Lane


Michael Mantell

Doug McConnell

William Penn Mott, Jr.

Margaret Owings

Roscoe Poland

Wilma Poland

Everett Powell

Donna Pozzi


Josephine P. Read

Roma Philbrook Rentz

Laurance S. Rockefeller

Claire Schlotterbeck

Bobby Shriver

Susan Smartt

Dr. Helen Henry Smith

Catherine Stone

Joe Stone

Les Strnad

Henry F. Trione

Harriett "Petey" Weaverr

Vern Whitaker

James Whitehead

Recipients by Year Awarded


Harry Blaisdell, Sr. 1965

Walt Disney 1965

Newton B. Drury 1965

Verna Dunshee 1965

Percy French 1965

Joseph R. Knowland 1965

Everett Powell 1965

Joseph C. Houghteling 1966

Laurance S. Rockefeller 1966

Phil Geiger 1968

William Goodall 1968


Harriett "Petey" Weaver 1971

Pearl Chase 1972

Earl P. Hanson 1972

Edward F. Dolder 1973

Claude A. "Tony" Look 1973

Josephine Read 1974

Helen "Harriet" Allen 1978

Bertram "Bert" Dunshee 1978

William Penn Mott, Jr. 1979



Howard King 1980

Vern Whitaker 1981

James Whitehead 1981

Ansel Adams 1984

Joe & Catherine Stone 1984

Dr. Harold Biswell 1985

John B. DeWitt 1985

Roscoe Poland 1986

Wilma Poland 1986

Sally Altick 1987

Victoria Araujo 1988

Harry M. Daniel 1988


Phil Frank 1990

David Brower 1991

William Alsup 1993

Roma Philbrook Rentz 1996

L.W. "Bill" Lane 1997

Margaret Owings 1998

Les Strnad 1998

Andrea Mead Lawrence 1999


Verl Clausen 2000

Doug McConnell 2001

Claire Schlotterbeck 2002

Susan Smartt 2003

Huell Howser 2004

George Cardinet, Jr. 2005

Caryl Hart 2007

Henry F. Trione 2008

Dr. Helen Henry Smith 2009


Fred Keeley 2010

Don & Diane Porter Cooley 2011

Bobby Shriver 2012

Clint Eastwood 2013

Douglas R. Bryce 2015

Donna Pozzi 2015

Michael Mantell 2015

Dr. Jarrell Jackman 2016

Joseph H. Engbeck, Jr. 2017

Back to Heritage Page


How to

Nominate a

CSPRA Honorary Ranger


Nomination Policy and Form