

## California State Park Rangers Association

Promoting Professionalism in California State Parks since 1964 www.cspra.com

April 4, 2024

Dr. Walter Lara Sr. Yurok Tribe, Ceremonial Lead PO Box 483 Hoopa, CA 95546

Dear Dr. Lara Sr.,

The California State Park Rangers Association (CSPRA) has selected you to receive this year's prestigious Honorary Ranger Award. This is the highest honor bestowed by CSPRA, reserved for citizens who exhibit outstanding dedication and service helping to protect parks throughout the state. Your selection followed careful consideration during which your name rose to the top for your efforts that we feel have truly made a difference for state parks, the state of California, the environment and public education and your stalwart support for Indigenous practices on public lands, working with government entities; serving as a catalyst for many agreements between Indigenous Tribes and the North Coast Redwoods District.

As a recipient of this award, you will be joining the ranks of Ansel Adams, Walt Disney, Newton B. Drury, Clint Eastwood, Bobby Schriver, Fred Keeley, Huell Howser, Paul Rogers, and other esteemed citizens (listed on our letterhead) dedicated to California parks and open space since this award was first bestowed in 1965.

The award and a program in your honor will be presented during the annual California Parks Training Conference to be held at the Sam Lopez Community Center, Elk Valley Rancheria 2332 Howland Hill Road, Crescent City, CA September 16 to 19, 2024

We would be honored for you to accept this award and to attend the banquet and if so, accommodations the night of the Honorary Ranger presentation as well as dinner for you and a guest, will be paid for by CSPRA. Your attendance at the banquet is not a requirement to receive the Honorary Ranger Award. The award comes with our gift to you of your own Ranger Stetson. The Stetson is a symbol of pride for our park employees, and we hope you too will be proud to own one as a symbol of your remarkable work protecting parks and open space, the environment, recreation and partnerships such as ours.

CSPRA is an organization of park professionals dedicated to advancement of the highest principles of public service, established to support and preserve California State Parks for present and future generations. In presenting this award to you, we are not only showing our appreciation for your meaningful work, but we are also hoping to inspire our members to follow suit with similar passion and dedication to public service and to parks.

Our organization will be anxious to hear if you are able to attend the award program and banquet as Honorary Ranger for 2024. As the conference dates get closer, we will determine the exact evening of the Honorary Ranger Award presentation and banquet. I hope to hear from you soon. I can be reached at 831-600-5209 or lynn@cspra.com to arrange for your receipt of this prestigious award.

Sincerely,

hynnkhodes

Lynn Rhodes Chair, CSPRA Honorary Ranger Award

cc: Dave Carle, President, CSPRA Victor Bjelajac, District Superintendent, California State Parks/North Coast Redwoods Mike Lynch, Past President, CSPRA Jeff Price, CSPRA and Honorary Ranger Committee Member

**OFFICERS** President

David Carle Vice President Ann Meneguzzi Secretary Joanne Kerbavaz Treasurer Ron Krueper

## HONORARY RANGERS

Ansel Adams David G. Allen Helen "Harriet" Allen William Alsup Sally Altick Victoria Araujo Dr. Harold Biswell Harry Blaisdell, Sr. David Brower Douglas R. Bryce George Cardinet, Jr. Pearl Chase Verl Clausen Don Cooley Diane Porter Cooley Harry M. Daniel John B. DeWitt Walt Disney Edward F. Dolder Newton B. Drury Bertram "Bert" Dunshee Verna Dunshee Joseph H. Engbeck, Jr. Clint Eastwood Phil Frank Percy French Phil Geiger William Goodall Earl P. Hanson Caryl Hart Huell Howser Joseph C. Houghteling Dr. Jarrell Jackman Fred Keelev Howard King Joe Knowland Andrea Mead Lawrence Claude A. "Tony" Look L.W. "Bill" Lane Delores Lukina Michael Mantell Doug McConnell William Penn Mott, Jr. Jeff Ohlfs Margaret Owings Roscoe Poland Wilma Poland Everett Powell Donna Pozzi Iosephine P. Read Roma Philbrook Rentz Laurance S. Rockefeller Paul Rogers Claire Schlotterbeck Bobby Shriver Paul Slavik Susan Smartt Dr. Helen Henry Smith Catherine Stone Joe Stone Les Strnad Henry F. Trione Harriett "Petey" Weaverr Vern Whitakei James Whitehead